J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board Welcomes Four New Members

WASHINGTON, D.C. (CitizenWire) — The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board today welcomed four new members at its quarterly meeting in Washington, DC. The new members, appointed by President Barack Obama, are Mark C. Alexander, Mark Brzezinski, Lisa M. Caputo, and Shelby F. Lewis.

President Obama said, “The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board will be well served by the experience and expertise these impressive individuals bring to their new roles. I am proud to have them serve in this Administration, and I look forward to working with them in the months and years ahead.”

Mark C. Alexander is a Professor of Law at Seton Hall University. In 2003-2004, he was a Fulbright Scholar to Universidad Carlos III in Spain, teaching American Law and Politics.

Mark Brzezinski is a partner in the Washington, D.C. office of McGuireWoods, where he specializes in anti-corruption law. As a Fulbright Scholar in Poland between 1991 and 1993, he authored the book “The Struggle for Constitutionalism in Poland.”

Lisa M. Caputo is Managing Director in Citigroup’s Investment Bank and is Chairman and Founder of Women & Co., Citi’s leading women’s financial services business. Prior to her career in business, she served as Deputy Assistant to the President and Press Secretary to the First Lady at the White House during President Clinton’s first term.

Shelby F. Lewis is Professor Emeritus at Clark Atlanta University, Executive Director of The Lewis Foundation, and an international development consultant. She was Fulbright Scholar at the National University of Lesotho from 1982 to 1983.

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board was established by the U.S. Congress for the purpose of supervising the Fulbright Program and establishing worldwide policies. The Board selects students, scholars, teachers, and others to participate in the educational exchange programs. Appointed by the President of the United States, the 12-member Board meets quarterly in Washington, D.C.

The Fulbright Program, sponsored by the Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, is the U.S. government’s flagship international exchange program and is supported by the people of the United States and partner countries around the world. Since 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 300,000 participants from over 155 countries with the opportunity to study, teach, conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.


Part of the Neotrope® News Network, USA.